Andhra Pradesh Legilative Council


            The Andhra Pradesh Legislature when it was constituted after the formation of state of Andhra Pradesh had only Uni-Cameral Legislature. The members of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly felt the need and necessity to have Legislative Council, in addition to the existing house, for successful running of the parliamentary Democracy in the state. Then Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly adopted a ‘resolution’ on 5th December, 1956 for creation of legislative Council.

           Subsequently, on 1st July, 1958 the Legislative Council came into existence in the Andhra Pradesh Legislature under article 168 of Constitution of India. It is composed of ninety (90) Members, out of them 31 Members are elected by the members of Legislative Assembly, 31 Members are elected by the Local Body Authorities, 8 Members are elected by the graduates Constituencies, 8 Members are elected by the Teachers Constituencies and the remaining 12 members are nominated by the Governor from among the persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of matters such as literature, science, art, cooperative movement and social service. His Excellency the then president of India Dr. Rajendra Prasad, inaugurated the legislative Council on 7th July, 1958.

          At the time of Constitution of Legislative Council, Sri Gottipati Brahmayya was appointed as temporary Chairman. Later, Sri Madapati Hanumantha Rao was unanimously elected as the chairman of the Council on the 7th july, 1958, and Sri G. Subba Raju was unanimously elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Council on the 8th july, 1958.  Sri Bhim Sen Sachar, the then Governor of Andhra Pradesh addressed both the House of Legislature, at 4.00 p.m. on the 9th August, 1958 in Jubilee Hall, Hyderabad.

          The required minimum age qualification for membership in the council is thirty years. The Members except 12 nominated Members are elected in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote. It is a permanent body and is not subjected to dissolution, but one-third of its members retires every second year by rotation and are replaced by newly elected members. The term of an individual member of Council is six years. The chairman will presides the meetings of the council or in his absence the deputy Chairman and they are elected by the Council from among the members. All the facilities which are available to the members of the Legislative Assembly would also be extended to Legislative Council too.

          As regards its power, the Legislative council plays more advisory role. It may also consider the possibility of undertaking certain special functions, which the Legislative Assembly is unable to discharge due to its size and lack of time. It is, in fact, better suited than the other house i.e., Legislative Assembly to undertake these functions owing to its composition and continuity as well as to its relative freedom from the immediate popular pressures, to which the Legislative Assembly is subjected.

           Due to various reasons the Second Chamber i.e., the legislative Council was abolished on 31st May, 1985 by the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council (Abolition) Act 1985 in pursuance of a resolution passed by Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly. Thus from 1st June, 1985 onwards the Andhra Pradesh Legislature became uni-cameral.

           Keeping in view of the role of the upper House in the west Minister Model of Parliamentary Democracy, attempts were made to revive the Council. The Government of Andhra Pradesh headed by Dr. M. Chenna Reddy decided to revive the Legislative Council. In Pursuance of this decision a Resolution was passed on 22nd January, 1990 in the Ninth Legislative Assembly. The Rajya Sabha passed the bill No. XXIc reviving the state Legislative Council of Andhra Pradesh on 28th May, 1990 and sent it to Lok Sabha but could not be considered by the Lok Sabha due to premature dissolution of Ninth Lok Sabha (1989-1991). Again on 8th July, 2004 the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly adopted another resolution for revival of the Legislative Council. Consequently the Andhra Pradesh Council Bill was introduced in Lok sabha on 16th December, 2004 and sent to Parliamentary Standing Committee. The Bill was passed in Lok Sabha on 15th December, 2005, in Rajya Sabha on 20th December, 2005 and received Presidential Assent on 10th January, 2006.

           The newly revived Council was constituted on 30th March, 2007. It was inaugurated by Sri Rameshwar Thakur the Governor of Andhra Pradesh on 2nd April, 2007. The Governor addressed the Members of the both Houses on 3rd April, 2007.

           The first session of the reconstituted Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council was held from 2nd to 10th April, 2007 and Dr. A.                                  Chakrapani was unanimously elected as Chairman of the Council on 3rd April, 2007. Sri Mohd. Jani was unanimously elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Council on 24th July, 2007.