Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council

           The first Legislature of Jammu and Kashmir consisting of a Council  of Ministers and an Assembly was established in 1934.  The Constitution of the State of Jammu and Kashmir framed by a separate Constituent Assembly came into force from 26 January 1957.  Section 46 of the J&K Constitution states that the Legislature shall consist of the Governor and the two Houses known as the Legislative Council (Upper House) and the Legislative Assembly (Lower House).

          The Legislative Council consists of 36 members.  The Upper House is not subject to dissolution but as nearly as possible one-third of the members thereof retire as soon as may be on the expiration of every second year in accordance with the provisions made in this behalf.