Jharkhand Legislative Assembly

          The State of Jharkhand came into existence on 15 November 2000 following the enactment of the Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 by the Parliament.  The State is the homeland of the tribals for which they had been dreaming for Centuries.  According to legend, Raja Jai Singh Deo of Orissa had declared himself the ruler of Jharkhand in the 13th Century.  It largely comprises of forest tracks of Chhotanagpur Plateau and Santhal Pargana and has distinct cultural traditions.  In post-Independence era, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha started a regular agitation which impelled the government to establish the Jharkhand Area Autonomous Council in 1995 and finally a full-fledged State in 2000.  The present State was carved out of the existing State of Bihar, by tranferring eighteen districts from the State of Bihar to the new State.

          The Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 also made provision for allocation of seats between the Legislative Assemblies of the two States.  Accordingly, out of the total of 324 seats in the Legislative Assembly of Bihar, 81 seats were allotted to the newly created State of Jharkhand.  The sitting nominated member of the Bihar Legislative Assembly to represent the Anglo-Indian community, in pursuance of article 333 of the Constitution, was also deemed to have been nominated to the Legislative Assembly of Jharkhand.

          The Legislature is a unicameral body consisting of 81 members.  The tenure of the Assembly is five years unless sooner dissolved.