Haryana Legislative Assembly

The State of Haryana, which was formed  on 1 November 1966, was carved out of the territory of Punjab State by an Act of Parliament called the Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966.  The Haryana State Legislature is unicameral right from its inception.

The Haryana Legislative Assembly which came into existence on 1 November 1966 had 54 seats out of which 10 were reserved for the Scheduled Castes. The strength was raised to 81 members in March 1967. The number of seats in the Assembly was further raised to 90 in 1977, including 17 reserved seats. There is no nominated member.

The tenure of the Assembly is five years unless dissolved sooner. There are 12 permanent Committees in the Assembly.