Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly

        The State of  Madhya Pradesh was formed on 1 November 1956, on the basis of the Report of the States Reorganization Commission by  merging the territories of the States of Madhya Bharat, a union of princely States in the Malwa Plateau region; Vindhya Pradesh, a union of States in the Vindhya region; Bhopal, a Centrally administered princely State; the Hindi-speaking areas, popularly known as Mahakoshal; and the Chhattisgarh region of the State of Central Provinces and Berar. The tenure of the first Legislative Assembly was very brief from 1 November 1956 to 5 March 1957. The first elections to the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly, after the reorganization of the State, were held in 1957 and the Assembly was constituted on 1 April 1957.

        The structure of the State Legislature is unicameral. The term of the Assembly is five years,  unless sooner dissolved. Initially, the strength of the Legislative Assembly was 288 which was later raised to 321,  including one nominated member.

        By an Act of Parliament titled, the Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2000, the State was bifurcated into two States, viz. Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh on 1 November 2000. Consequently, the strength of the State Legislature has come down to 231, including a nominated member.

        Recently, elections were held in the State and the present House, the Twelfth Legislative Assembly, was constituted on 5 December, 2003.