Uttaranchal Legislative Assembly

          Uttaranchal Legislative Assembly is one of the youngest Legislative Assemblies in India. The State of Uttaranchal was carved out of Uttar Pradesh by the enactment of the Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 by the Parliament.  Uttaranchal has a unicameral legislature.  With a nominated member from Anglo-Indian Community, it has a total strength of 71 members.  The Assembly Chamber is housed in Vidhan Sabha Bhawan, Dehradun, the provisional headquarter of the State.